Fast Food: Coffee Shops and Other Misc. Fast Food Chains

Last updated July 2019.

PLEASE NOTE: The items listed as vegan do not contain animal flesh, dairy, eggs, or honey products directly. However, we have not confirmed whether or not they may contain additives, preservatives, or chemical ingredients which are sometimes animal-derived, and the products may be cooked on the same equipment as animal products. 

Tim Horton’s

Allergy Guide

Over 2,750 stores across Canada, and over 350 locations in the United States. Many are open 24 hours.

Tim’s now offers a fully vegan sandwich complete with a Beyond Meat sausage patty, lettuce, and tomato. They also offer vegetarian options using the Beyond Meat patty.

The 12 grain, plain, blueberry, cinnamon raisin, everything, pretzel and sesame seed bagels are vegan, as is the Homestyle Biscuit, English muffin, white sandwich bun, or whole wheat sandwich bun. Their oatmeal is also vegan.

Their hashbrowns and potatoe wedges are also vegan. Most locations will also gladly make a vegan sandwich for you on a bagel or bun of your choice with hashbrowns, tomatoes, lettuce and cucumber. Just ask!

For drinks, their chocolatey drizzle is vegan, enjoy!

Starbucks

Allergy guide (food only)

Starbucks offers several non-dairy milk options for their drinks: soy, almond, or coconut. When ordering, modify your drink to be vegan by asking your barista to hold the following ingredients: whipped cream, java chips, protein powder, caramel drizzle, cinnamon dolce topping. Some of the drinks cannot be made vegan because the syrup contains dairy. These are: anything with pumpkin spice, white mocha, or caramel brulee, and the chai latte. (Source)

On Starbucks’ website they state that: “Allergen information is currently unavailable online for our beverage selections. We are actively working to bring that information to you. If you have an allergen concern, please feel free to ask our baristas to check the ingredient labels or click on our Customer Service page. We cannot guarantee that any of our beverages are allergen free because we use shared equipment and handle allergens throughout the store.”

However, their latest allergen menu from 2015 says that the following do not contain animal products:
Syrups
Light syrups
Teas
Fruit frappuccinos
Starbucks refresha
Condiments (except the chocolate powder and honey)

The caramel for caramel macchiato is not vegan

Regarding food, the whole grain oatmeal is also vegan, which you can top with nuts and seeds, maple brown sugar, and dried fruit. Their vegan bagels include plain, blueberry, raisin, and the sprouted grain vegan bagel. Many locations also offer veggies and hummus or guacamole. Many of the pre-packaged items they sell are vegan brands, but depend heavily on location. 

New York Fries

Allergy guide

Several locations across Canada, as well as a few in Korea and U.A.E. But none in New York City.

Here you can get the fries topped with cajun or california seasoning, the bread and butter pickles, sauerkraut, and tabasco jalapeno and garlic.