Fast Food: Chicken Chains

Last updated July 2019. 

PLEASE NOTE: The items listed as vegan do not contain animal flesh, dairy, eggs, or honey products directly. However, we have not confirmed whether or not they may contain additives, preservatives, or chemical ingredients which are sometimes animal-derived, and the products may be cooked on the same equipment as animal products. 

We’ve included both American and Canadian chains to assist you when you are traveling in addition to dining out in Toronto.


Allergy guide

Chick-fil-A sent this response via email:

“Our Restaurants try very hard to accommodate customers with special requests. We offer several items that can be modified to fit into a vegetarian and vegan diet. However, because special requests are not already prepared, please call your local Chick-fi-A® Restaurant ahead of time to order your local meal or be prepared to wait a few minutes for your item to be specially made.”

For Breakfast: Vegetarian: biscuit, biscuit with egg, biscuit with egg and cheese

Vegan: sunflower multigrain bagel, oatmeal, fruit cup, hashbrowns

For Lunch/Dinner: Vegan and Vegetarian: side salad without cheese, any entrée salad without chicken or cheese, cool wrap without chicken or cheese, fruit cup, waffle potato fries

Condiments: Vegetarian: Reduced Fat Berry Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing (they list it as vegan but the ingredient list says that it contains honey), Ranch dressing, Spicy dressing, Avocado Lime Ranch dressing, Honey Sesame dressing, Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette, Vegan: Light Italian Dressing

They recommend contacting individual franchises to ask about policies regarding what the fries are cooked in and/or with if that concerns you.


Allergy guide

KFC does offer a vegetarian patty (which is also vegan according to the ingredient list), however it may not be available at all locations. Their fries are always a solid vegan option.

Swiss Chalet

Allergy guide

They have a veggie burger but it is not vegan. You can still put together a decent meal though by ordering a veggie burger without the bun, and a couple of side dishes. Vegan options include the oven-baked potato, fries and sweet potato fries, a garden salad with the fat free raspberry vinaigrette, the fresh vegetable medley, sweet kernel corn, seasoned rice, and multigrain or white roll.

Wild Wing

Many of their appetizers are vegetarian, including pickled willys, mac n’ cheese bites, nachos, mozza sticks, and jalapeño poppers. They don’t post ingredients or allergens online, however it seems that some items can be made vegan with modifications, including the salads. They have a veggie burger but it is unclear whether or not it is vegan – we recommend asking your server.


Allergy guide

Things have come a long way here since our last update in 2016! As of January 2019, you can make a meal out of a combination of sides that include the baguette, cajun fries, red beans and rice, cajun rice, grits, and hashbrowns. Watch out for the green beans, corn on the cob, and onion rings which all contain milk.