Fast Food: Burger Chains

Last updated July 2019.

PLEASE NOTE: The items listed as vegan do not contain animal flesh, dairy, eggs, or honey products directly. However, we have not confirmed whether or not they may contain additives, preservatives, or chemical ingredients which are sometimes animal-derived, and the products may be cooked on the same equipment as animal products. 


Allergy guide

Harvey’s was one of the first burger chains to develop and promote its own, simply named, Veggie Burger. The veggie burger and the regular and multigrain bun are vegan, but don’t miss the opportunity to have your burger as a bowl instead over fries, rice, or lettuce with a wide range of veggie toppings to choose from! The fries and onion rings are vegan as well. For salad dressings, the Balsamic Vinaigrette and Italian dressings are vegan. Watch out for the frozen lemonades, slushies, smoothies, and apple sauce which contain milk!


Allergy guide

A&W now serves the Beyond Burger as their veggie burger. It comes with mayo and another dairy-based sauce by default, so you need to request no mayo and no uncle sauce to make it vegan. The fries and sweet potato fries are vegan but request no chipotle mayonnaise dipping sauce. Note that their onion rings contain milk, but they do have root beer lollipops that are vegan for a unique treat!

Burger King

Allergy guide

Burger King US has a veggie burger, supplied by Morningstar Farms. However, it is not vegan.  The patty contains both milk and eggs, as does the bun.

Burger King Canada’s veggie burger also contains milk and eggs, so is presumably from the same supplier now.  Their official policy says the patty is NOT cooked on the same grill as meat, but check with individual locations to confirm.  The Garden Salad is vegan.  Dressing choices may vary with locations but Burger King Canada has Kraft Balsamic Dressing, which is vegan. Their french fries and hash browns are vegan, but the onion rings contain milk.  Burger King also notes that they usually use the same deep fryer for meat and onion rings and potentially for other menu items as well. The Caesar dressing contains anchovies.

Hero Burger

Allergy guide

Hero Burger has many restaurants around Canada (mostly southern Ontario) and is known for its environmental stewardship. The “soul burger” patty is vegan but the regular Hero bun is not. The gluten free bun, ciabatta bun, and multigrain flatbread are all vegan, as are the fries, onion rings, and sweet potato fries. You can top your burger with vegan guacamole, crispy or sauteed onions, and choose from maple chipotle BBQ, pineapple mango, mustard, and zucchini relish for sauces. 


While McDonald’s is certainly falling behind the times without any veggie burger in Canada yet, you can still treat yourself to some junk food if you are desperate or find yourself there with non-veg friends or family.

Their hashbrowns and baked apple pie are vegan. You can also order smoothies if you ask for no yogurt. Beware of their fries which may have beef fat in them.


Wendy’s is likewise missing out on the opportunity to please plant-based customers! The only vegan items here are fries and a plain baked potato.

Burger’s Priest

The very meat-centric Canada chain has a vegetarian option call The Option which is described as “a custom blend of cheesy goodness sandwiched between two Roasted portabello mushrooms, breaded and deep fried.” No vegan options at this time.

Big Smoke Burger

Big Smoke Burger confirmed via Twitter that their veggie patty is vegan, but the bun is not. They suggest asking for a lettuce-wrapped burger instead, with all the veggie toppings.

South Street Burger

Allergy guide

South Street Burger’s veggie burger is vegan, and their gluten-free bun, but not the regular bun. Their fries and onion rings are both vegan though, and for toppings they have pico de gallo, maple syrup infused red onions, and a piri piri marinade in addition to typical burger toppings. Different items (such as the regular buns) are vegan in other provinces, so it’s worth checking their allergy menu linked above if you’re traveling through Canada.