Tim Horton’s

Over 2,750 stores across Canada, and over 350 locations in the United States. Most are open 24 hours.

Update 2016: Tim Horton’s now serves an Apple Streudel which is vegan.

Most locations will also gladly make a vegan sandwich for you on a bagel with tomatoes, lettuce and cucumber. Just ask!

Being a Hamilton native I had to include this one. I received an informative fax from the Tim Horton’s head office. Since December 1997, donuts, muffins, tea biscuits, cookies and cakes have been produced without the use of lard or other slaughterhouse by-products such as gelatin and rennet. Furthermore all donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable oil shortening, their glaze is completely vegetable-based and the mono and digylcerides in all Tim Horton’s products are vegetable-based. So lacto-ovo vegetarians can sink their teeth into Tim Horton’s donuts and only feel guilty about the deep-fried, compressed sugar they are eating. – Thom

Update (July 2014): Most bagels are vegan (Caramel Apple Bagel, Cinnamon Raisin, Sesame Seen, Plain, Onion, Everything, Pretzel) just watch out for those cheesy bagels if you are vegan. As for breakfast foods, vegans can enjoy the hashbrowns, english muffins, homestyle biscuits and oatmeal. Be mindful that the yogurt contains gelatin! If you are looking for a quick lunch, the Heart Vegetable soup with a soup roll is a good vegan meal.

Update (Oct 2010): According to their website, the following items are vegan: bagels, sandwich buns, soup rolls, oatcakes (cookie). In addition, the following are egg-free but contain dairy: Yeast Donuts (Apple Fritter, Blueberry Fritter, Boston Cream, Canadian Maple, Dutchies, Powdered Filled Donuts, Chocolate Dip, Honey Dip, Maple Dip and Vanilla Dip, Cinnamon Rolls , Oatcakes (cookie), Low Fat Muffins (Cranberry, Blueberry), Bagels, Sandwich Buns, Soup Rolls, Tea Biscuits (excluding Ham and Cheese)

Check Are there any Animal by-products in Tim Hortons baked goods?I am a vegetarian. Which products would fit into my diet? and I am vegetarian. Are there any soups at Tim Hortons that I can eat?  for the most current information.

Update about soups (Oct 2008) According to their website, each store offers a changing daily variety of soups. One of these is the vegan Hearty Vegetable soup. Kyle wrote us that he noticed that the Hearty Vegetable had been replaced by a Cream of Potato Bacon. Likely this is temporary part of their rotation. You can try requesting the vegan soup to let them know it is popular. There are also several lacto-vegetarian soups that may be available such as the cauliflower & cheese, cream of asparagus, cream of broccoli, field mushroom, and mixed vegetable and tomato parmasean.

Update about yogurt and bagels (Sept 2008): Stephanie wrote us about what she learned after calling the head office in December. “The yogurt contains gelatin, … and the bagels contain an ingredient made from poultry feathers!! They contain L-cysteine that acts as a dough conditioner and the sources are human hair or poultry feathers. (She confidently assured me that Tim Horton’s does not use human hair… gee, thanks).” See What is L-cysteine for more information. Feb 2009: Their website says that the L-cysteine is from a synthetic source.

www.timhortons.com/en/menu/menu_info.html (see the faq questions about vegetarian options.) Or call 1-888-601-1616.

New York Fries

Several locations across Canada, as well as a few in Korea and U.A.E. But none in New York City.

What fast food report would be complete without New York Fries, probably the greasiest food but one of the yummiest. I did a little fieldwork in the basement of the Yonge-Eglinton Centre and questioned some helpful fry guys about their product. The result was shocking. Apparently their fries are just potatoes: no weird chemicals or preservatives [update: that can’t be correct as their nutrition pdf says they contain trans fats]. Even more appealing is the fact that New York Fries are cooked in 100% non-hydrogenated vegetable oil. I didn’t ask about the seasoning mixes that you can put on your fries. – Thom
www.newyorkfries.com

The Pickle Barrel

Twelve locations around the GTA

Kenneth writes: My office were going to order from the Pickle Barrel so I called their office about vegan options and got this positive response: “Thank you for your request regarding our veggie burger. Yes the burger is vegan, the bun is as well (although this is made in a facility that uses eggs so they do claim it may have come in contact), of course the pesto Aioli does have eggs so you can simply ask to not have this on the burger.  As far as making another meal vegan we can certainly try our best- was there a specific dish you had in mind? Please let me know and I will check to see if this is possible.” – Director of Operations, July 2011 We don’t have any other information about other options, but as you can see, they seem very accomodating… you just need to ask.
www.picklebarrel.ca