Updated January 2016
We’ve included both American and Canadian chains to assist you when you are traveling in addition to dining out in Toronto.
Veg options available
Over 1,300 locations in 37 U.S. states
Chick-fil-A sent this response via email:
“Our Restaurants try very hard to accommodate customers with special requests. We offer several items that can be modified to fit into a vegetarian and vegan diet. However, because special requests are not already prepared, please call your local Chick-fi-A® Restaurant ahead of time to order your local meal or be prepared to wait a few minutes for your item to be specially made.”
For Breakfast: Vegetarian: biscuit, biscuit with egg, biscuit with egg and cheese
Vegan: sunflower multigrain bagel, oatmeal, fruit cup, hashbrowns
For Lunch/Dinner: Vegan and Vegetarian: side salad without cheese, any entrée salad without chicken or cheese, cool wrap without chicken or cheese, fruit cup, waffle potato fries
Condiments: Vegetarian: Reduced Fat Berry Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing (they list it as vegan but the ingredient list says that it contains honey), Ranch dressing, Spicy dressing, Avocado Lime Ranch dressing, Honey Sesame dressing, Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette Vegan: Light Italian Dressing
They recommend contacting individual franchises to ask about policies regarding what the fries are cooked in and/or with if that concerns you.
In Canada, KFC agreed in May 2008 to offer vegan “unchicken” as a menu item at their Canadian locations. This move comes in response to PETA’s decades-long and passionate Kentucky Fried Cruelty campaign. KFC Canada has also taken an additional step towards humane practices by pledging to buy chickens only from suppliers who use gas as a method of slaughter, which PETA calls “the least cruel form of poultry slaughter ever developed.”
Our researcher did some checking in December 2015 to check if the vegetarian patty is still available:
They do have a vegetarian patty and according to the website these are the ingredients: Water, Soy Protein Concentrate, Wheat Gluten, Canola Oil, Natural Flavour (Flavour, Salt, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Spices, Monosodium Glutamate), Potato Starch, Methylcellulose, Vitamins & Minerals (Thiamine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Niacinamide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Cyanocobalamin, Calcium Pantothenate, Ferric Orthophosphate, Zinc Oxide). In A Breading Of Breadcrumbs, Water, Wheat Flour, Monosodium Glutamate, Spices, Salt, Dextrose, Garlic Powder. Cooked In Canola Oil (Dimethylpolysiloxane (Antifoaming Agent), TBHQ).
The french fries are vegan, the KFC gravy appears to be vegan but the Crackling Free Gravy contains chicken fat. The waffle fries are vegetarian but contain milk. The coleslaw salad and potato salad are all vegetarian (contain eggs, cheese, whey and other milk products). For dessert, the Chocolate Molten Lava Cake are vegetarian friendly (contain eggs and milk). The Kaiser and Ciabatta buns are vegan.
Depending on the country/region, KFC may also have the following: Caesar salad dressing is not vegetarian (contains fish). The other dressings are vegetarian, but none are vegan friendly. The baked beans contain chicken.
Swiss Chalet – For vegetarians they have a Greek salad, and 4 cheese spinach dip. The veggie burger itself is vegan without the mayonnaise, however the bun may not be vegan. Garden salad is vegan (with raspberry vinaigrette). The apple pie seems to be vegan. Fresh Vegetable Medley, Oven Baked Potato, Sweet Kernel Corn, Fresh Cut Fries, White Roll, Multigrain Roll, Sweet Potato Fries, Corn Tortilla Chips are other vegan options.
Wild Wing – For vegetarians they have Pickled Willys, Jalapeno Poppers, Ravioli Cheese Bites, Sweet Potato Fries, Nacho Camachos, Onion Rings, Mozza Sticks, Mac N’ Cheese. They have a Wild Salad, Greek Salad, and Caesar Salad with a choice of dressings Dill, Blue Cheese, Caesar (Contains anchivoies) Ranch, Greek, Balsamic. For vegans they also have sweet potato fries, onion rings and a veggie burger (ask to hold the mayo).
Wing Zone – US only chain with locations in 20 states. Menus may differ slightly from restaurant to restaurant, and it’s probably best to inquire with individual restaurants about whether these are cross-contaminated with meat. Not surprisingly there are few options and some are questionable at best. For vegetarians there are Mozza Sticks, Sweet Corn Bites, Sweet and Spicy Pickle Chips, Wedge Fries, Onion Rings, Cheese Fries, Texas Toast. The fried mushrooms are made with milk as well. As far as vegan options go, their salads are customizable and can be ordered without cheese. Their new black bean burger is vegan if ordered without the bun.
Popeye’s – Virtually no options. The baguette, and Cajun fries are technically vegan, but check with individual restaurants whether or not they use the same frier for meat and fries. The Grits and hashbrowns from the breakfast menu are vegan. You can have some apple sauce for dessert. The Cajun Rice is apparently made with pork fat, and their gravy is not vegetarian friendly.
Dixie Lee Fried Chicken – Not a whole lot of options especially for vegans; they have coleslaw, macaroni, and potato salad which are vegetarian; they have fries, wedges and onion rings, but check with the individual restaurant as it’s likely they are cooked in the same deep frier as the chicken.